CHILD logo
  • What is C.H.I.L.D.?

    CHILD functions like a PTA for families throughout the district with a child who:

    • Struggles with school work or homework
    • Receives Special Education support such as PT, speech, or LRC
    • Has an IEP or 504 accomodation plan
    • Needs support with academincs and social emotional functioning

    We offer a network of support, information, and resources to parents and teachers.


    CHILD Sponsored Events

    Summer Playdates: Get togethers for for elementary school inclusion classes:
    Wednesday, August 8, 2018, 4:30 p.m. at Quaker Ridge (back playground) for grades K, 2 and 4
    Thursday, August 9, 2018, 4:30 p.m. at Edgewood (Edgewood Rd. playground) for grades 1, 3 and 5

    Parent Coffees: Speak directly with school and District special education staff and administrators
    Elementary School Parent Coffee: Tuesday, September 25, 2018 @ 9:30 a.m.
    Middle School Parent Coffee: Tuesday, October 2, 2018 @ 9:30 a.m.
    High School Parent Coffee: Friday, October 12, 2018 @ 9:30 a.m.

    Mixer: Community building event to get to know district administrators and staff in a casual setting
    Tuesday, October 18, 2017 @ 7:30 p.m.

    Member meetings: Presentations with District staff and local experts on relevant topics
    Tuesday, December 11, 2018 @ 7:30 p.m. at Fox Meadow
    Tuesday, January 8, 2019 @ 7:30 p.m. at Scarsdale Middle School
    Thursday, April 4, 2019 @ 7:30 p.m. at Fox Meadow

    Information sessions: Meetings for parents with children transitioning to the next level of education
    (Preschool – Elementary, Elementary – SMS, SMS – SHS)
    Thursday, February 12, 2019 @ 9:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m.

    CHILD Book Club for Adults
    Tuesday, October 16, 2018 
    Tuesday, December 11, 2018
    Tuesday, January 29, 2019
    Tuesday, March 19, 2019
    Tuesday, May 14, 2019

2018-2019 School Representatives